Between Gimmick and Soul

Is it because UM students do not like to read that they are not able to conceptualise?

“Rubbish!”, you may say, but I think that the truth could be nearer than the heart artery. I think we need to nail this somehow. Looking at 3rd, 4th and 5th year work so far, in the interims, I noticed this. I noticed that most of the students have a lack of design finesse or sense of being a designer. Why?

This is bothering me. This is nagging me.

Between gimmick and soul.

Between literal and conceptual.

Can we have passion here? I don’t care if you want to be a technical assistant or just find a job. I want you to want to be an architect. What are you doing here?

One thought on “Between Gimmick and Soul

Leave a Reply

