Learning from Amsterdam

We are recovering from jet lagged. But memories of the trip to Amsterdam is still really fresh and new. At the end of the trip everyone took turns to describe what they learned most from the trip. I wanted to say more, but I would have said too much. So I am saying it here.

I wish it would have been longer. We could have seen so much more. The canals froze a day later we left. It would have been much colder too.

I found the students were really good at organising and running the itinerary.

I felt the pain of walking in the cold which the students took in their stride.

I talked with certain individuals and collectively about the design thesis. I wished I could have spoken to all personally. However there was not much time,

I dont know if it was intentional or coincidentally, but Amsterdam, Rotterdam and Delft were perfect for the design thesis studio. The Dutch Amsterdam School, De Stijl and the Forum group all based on the Dutch importance on community and family values played right up to the social agenda of most projects. If only the students would see.

Leave a Reply

