Concept and Hook

DSC_0711__1470995494_103.18.0.20

I was watching a video where Sia explained about how she wrote the hit song in 40 minutes. She talked about the ‘concept’ (like Chandelier) and finding the hook, via the words and music.

Then I was browsing and read in this link about screenplay  and the relationship between concept = hook.

“The foundation of any movie is the screenplay. The foundation of any screenplay is the concept.”

Other creative industry like the film and music industry talks about ‘concept’ like the design industry. For Sia, she saw a literal concept like a ‘chandelier’ and she wrote the lyrics about love/pains/regret and the Chandelier.

Part of the lyrics from that song:

I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier
I’m gonna live like tomorrow doesn’t exist
Like it doesn’t exist
I’m gonna fly like a bird through the night, feel my tears as they dry
I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier

But I’m holding on for dear life, won’t look down won’t open my eyes
Keep my glass full until morning light, ’cause I’m just holding on for tonight
Help me, I’m holding on for dear life, won’t look down won’t open my eyes
Keep my glass full until morning light, ’cause I’m just holding on for tonight
On for tonight

Of course the music and all that techniques of making music, of experience, of the feel comes in. And you get something extraordinary where many people relate to. A commercially successful pop song.

What does this has to do with the ‘design thesis’?

Now, at special semester, you have not started the groove. In fact, you just barely collected some data, and put together a ‘wish-list’. You have not begun anything. In fact after a year, you will feel for something germinating, a seed of your design ideas for you as an architect-designer. To get to that ‘seed’ it takes effort, like hard work and sense of struggle to create something.

Leave a Reply

